RSS

2015 Planned Theology Reading

09 Dec

For the last several years I have sought to read a major theological work by scheduling a reading plan. (See more here.)

I am convinced I need to read sound, deep, and profound theology regularly as this practice helps shape my thinking. It assists me in thinking carefully and rightly according to God’s Word about God, myself, the church, and the world.

In addition this practice increases my love for Christ as I am helped to more fully grasp His nature, character, and work.

I read a lot of other, smaller books throughout the year. However, second to my daily Bible reading, I am convinced this is the most important reading I do.

I schedule this reading through the year for several reasons:

  1. These types of books are generally very large and are not the type of books one just sits down to read in a sitting (at least not me).
  2. With a life that is quite full of other responsibilities a schedule helps me to be reasonable in my attempt to read such large volumes.
  3. By scheduling this reading for the entire year I am ensured to maintain a steady diet of good, helpful theological reading in the midst of other activities.

For 2015 I plan to read two large volumes:

  1. Hamilton, James M. God’s Glory in Salvation Through Judgment A Biblical Theology. 2010.
  2. Horton, Michael Scott. The Christian Faith: A Systematic Theology for Pilgrims on the Way. Grand Rapids, Mich: Zondervan, 2011.
    • I’ve given myself some room for flexibility in case I fall behind.
  3. Beeke, Joel R., and Mark Jones. A Puritan Theology: Doctrine for Life. Grand Rapids, Mich: Reformation Heritage Books, 2012. (Kindle Edition)
    • I didn’t finish this book in 2014, so I will continue on in 2015.

You can download a PDF of my 2015 Planned Theology Reading here.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 09/12/2014 in Books, Theology

 

Leave a Reply

 
