RSS

2014 Planned Theology Reading

20 Jan

For the last several years I have sought to read a major theological work by scheduling a reading plan. (See more here.)

I am convinced I need to read sound, deep, and profound theology regularly as this practice helps shape my thinking. It assists me in thinking carefully and rightly according to God’s Word about God, myself, the church, and the world.

In addition this practice increases my love for Christ as I am helped to more fully grasp His nature, character, and work.

I read a lot of other, smaller books throughout the year. However, second to my daily Bible reading, I am convinced this is the most important reading I do.

I schedule this reading through the year for several reasons:

  1. These types of books are generally very large and are not the type of books one just sits down to read in a sitting (at least not me).
  2. With a life that is quite full of other responsibilities a schedule helps me to be reasonable in my attempt to read such large volumes.
  3. By scheduling this reading for the entire year I am ensured to maintain a steady diet of good, helpful theological reading in the midst of other activities.

For 2014 I plan to read two large volumes:

  1. Gibson, David, and Jonathan Gibson. From Heaven He Came and Sought Her: Definite Atonement in Historical, Biblical, Theological, and Pastoral Perspective. 2013. (I’m reading this one with a pastor friend who lives in another part of New Zealand.)
  2. Beeke, Joel R., and Mark Jones. A Puritan Theology: Doctrine for Life. Grand Rapids, Mich: Reformation Heritage Books, 2012. (Kindle Edition)

Here is this year’s reading schedule:

Reading Plan for From Heaven He Came and Sought Her

 

Reading Plan for A Puritan Theology, Doctrine for Life

 

Leave a Reply

 
