RSS

BibleWorks Training – Reflecting on Ten Years

28 Aug

As far as I can tell from a quick scan over my records I conducted my first BibleWorks Training Seminar in the US in 2003. Just as I was beginning my ThM studies.

I had been using BibleWorks for about three years and had developed a good relationship via email with their team in Norfolk, Virginia. It was through this relationship that I worked with their main tech support guy at the time to develop some simple training seminars which could be taken onsite to seminaries and Bible colleges.

This resulted in me being sent all over the US conducting full-day training seminars at nearly every major seminary from 2003 to 2006.

Upon reflection, I am not sure how I did it, but in those three years, from what I can tell from my records, I had the opportunity to conduct BibleWorks training seminars at 30 different seminaries and/or Bible colleges, and some more than once. (I lived only about an hour’s drive from Princeton, so I took one there at the beginning of every semester.)

In addition to these full-day seminars on campuses, I also had the privilege of conducting seminars on the integration of technology into the seminary classroom at the Annual Meeting for the Evangelical Theological Society in 2004 & 2005, along with facilitating a panel of seminary professors on this same subject during the Annual Meeting for the Society of Biblical Literature in 2004, 2005, & 2006.

Since moving the New Zealand (Sept. 2006), I have conducted training seminars in Australia on four occasions at four different theological colleges, along with representing BibleWorks at the International Meeting of the Society of Biblical Literature in 2007 and the Oxygen Conference in 2011.

Tomorrow I will conduct only the second of these seminars here in New Zealand.

For me, this exercise has been a wonderful opportunity to thank the Lord for His provision.

During those years 2003 – 2006, before moving to New Zealand, we were waiting on the Lord to give clarity as to where He would have us serve Him in ministry. In that time there were a few opportunities which came and went, but through it all, the Lord used my contract work with BibleWorks and their generosity to include me on several projects to keep us afloat financially.

I am very thankful.

 
 

2 responses to “BibleWorks Training – Reflecting on Ten Years

  1. James Darlack

    03/09/2013 at 1:45 am

    Hey Joe, how’s it going? Long time no see. 🙂 I’m going to be teaching BibleWorks in an all-day seminar at Gordon-Conwell in a few weeks. Do you have an outline of what you cover in your sessions nowadays?

     
  2. Joe Fleener

    03/09/2013 at 10:14 am

    Hi Jim!

    Wow, it has been a long time.

    I just sent you an email. The only address I have for you in a Gordon-Conwell address, so if that is no longer valid let me know and I can send it to another.

     

Leave a Reply

 
