RSS

Happy Birthday Mandy – 2013

15 Aug

Social Cooking Mandy & I

Today marks one of the best days of the year, as far as I am concerned. It is my wife’s birthday and, providentially, the 14th anniversary of the day we met! (Yes, we met on her birthday. No, I am not going to tell you which one since one with basic maths skills could add the numbers and get to her current age!)

I am responsible for planning an annual conference at our church and this year the dates landed the day after her birthday which has meant my being more distracted than I prefer on this day.

Why do I so enjoy Mandy’s birthday?

Firstly, it is an opportunity to rejoice in the life given to her by God. She has been the recipient of a lifetime of grace and mercy from the One who created her.

Secondly, it is an opportunity to rejoice in her salvation. She placed her faith in Christ alone for the forgiveness of her sins at a very young age. She has grown in her understanding of the Gospel and her love for Christ all these years, through times of trial and times of plenty.

Thirdly, it is an opportunity to rejoice in God’s goodness who gave Mandy to me as my wife. Second to my own salvation there is no other gift which even comes close to God’s kindness in giving me this woman as my wife. The fact that we actually met on her birthday, I think is very cool! 🙂

Fourthly, it is an opportunity to rejoice in God’s goodness who gave Mandy to me to be the mother of our children. Our children do not yet comprehend the profound blessing it is to have such a godly woman as their mother. A woman who loves Christ more than she loves her husband, who loves their father more than she loves them and yet loves them passionately and tirelessly.

Fifthly, it is an opportunity to rejoice in God’s kindness to give me such a partner/friend for life and ministry. I know I would not be who I am today, where I am today, doing what I am doing today, if not for God giving me Mandy as a friend and partner. I rejoice not only in the blessing she is to me directly, but also the blessing she is to so many others whom she serves faithfully and joyfully.

Happy birthday, my love! May there by many more as the Lord wills!

Other related posts:

I Like Coffee

Happy Birthday Mandy (2012)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 15/08/2013 in Family, Fun, Marriage, Ministry

 

Leave a Reply

 
