RSS

What I Read Online – 07/30/2013 (a.m.)

30 Jul
    • Yet, technology, broadly understood, is also ancient and the Bible actually says much about it, even giving examples of God’s own interactions with it. This article will explore the Bible’s attitude towards technology, focusing on God’s appropriation of the technology of the cross.
    • The first step is to define technology as an assembly of artifacts and processes that people construct from nature to increase our power in achieving our goals.
    • One of the consistent biblical themes on technology is mockery.
    • Technology thus stirs two emotions in us: pride and fear
    • God’s ultimate act of mockery against our technology was performed on the cross. It was a sophisticated and elaborate form of mockery with a technical name: hacking.
    • God ‘hacked’ the cross by overcoming the technology’s pull towards its design purpose.  It was designed to take life slowly and painfully. Yet God uses it to give eternal and joyful life.
    • Shun both fear and pride. When we put our hope in God, we won’t fear technology but remember our almighty Father who watches over us. Neither will we become proud with the power and promise of technology. Hearts humbled by God will know their own fallenness as the real problem in the world.
    • Children of the sovereign God ought not to take technology too seriously.
    • We will study carefully a technology’s design and assembly to look for ways it may pull us, deceive us, or betray us.
    • Rather than naively thinking a blanket avoidance of technology would make us ‘clean,’ our shrewdness will lead to a different and redeeming way of using technology.
    • While there is a healthy resurgence in teaching that glory is God’s ultimate end, many inadvertently equate God’s ultimate end with God’s comprehensive motivation (Edwards and Piper do not make this mistake, but many who read them do). As a result, we rarely hear that God often acts with multiple ends in mind.
    • So God delivered his people for a variety of reasons, not merely one.
    • You probably know Paul Washer as the man who preached the infamous “Shocking Youth Message,” a sermon that has tallied over one million views on YouTube. But there is far more to the man than that one sermo
    • I felt broken into a million pieces, and yet I was fearless about the consequences. Immediately afterwards, I thought I would collapse, and I was full of fear. Many people were angry with me that day. I remained troubled about the sermon for the next few weeks. While I was preaching, I had no doubts; but afterwards, I was besieged by doubt. Had I done the right thing? Several months passed, and I eventually put the whole thing out of my mind. I never saw a copy of the video, nor did HeartCry put it online.
    • Negatively, it has led some young reformers to hold an unbalanced view of the kind of preaching that is needed for true revival. The message I preached was hard, very hard, but it was the exception and not the norm of my preaching. There are times when a “hard word” must be preached, even to God’s people. However, the church and the individual believer do not grow by daily helpings of “hard words,” but by being nourished and encouraged by the full counsel of God. The greatest catalyst for spiritual maturity in the truly converted is a greater revelation of the love of God in Christ. Another thing that “budding prophets” need to understand is that a preacher carries a Sword, a basin, and a towel. He is quick to use the basin and towel with great joy. But he is slow to use the sword, and he always does so with tears and fear and scarred knees.
    • I have discovered some essential principles in discerning God’s will: First, by God’s grace, we must be firmly committed to seeking first the Kingdom of God and His glory. Secondly, we must establish a life discipline of renewing our minds in the Word of God. Thirdly, we must seek godly counsel from mature believers. Fourthly, we must watch for signs of God’s providence opening doors and closing them. Finally, we should consider the desires of our heart.
    • Teach the Scriptures to your children daily, discipline your children consistently, and love your children unconditionally. If you do these things, you will have acted biblically.
    • I am careful to follow what is happening with my children during the devotion. Devotions should not be drudgery, but the highlight of the day.
    • At the core of the Christian’s job is the task of discipleship
    • A disciple is a learner and a follower of Jesus. When we make disciples we are working to see people who do not follow Jesus come to follow him (conversion) and then teaching them to faithfully follow Jesus in every area of their lives (maturity).
    • disciple-making is ordinary Christianity.
    • Of late I’ve not been maintaining a regular and fruitful communion with my Lord. I could use more socially acceptable terms like “struggling,” but the truth is my lazy flesh has won more mornings than my willing spirit. I’ve found myself–once again–in a dry and weary land. And I haven’t fought as I should
    • I’ve noticed that my time with the Lord is full and rich when I’m desperate–desperate for Him, desperate for wisdom, desperate for joy, desperate to escape the world, the flesh and the devil.
    • Then, at some point, I’m prone to feel satiated. I’d never say, “I’ve had enough time with Jesus.” But I am prone to turn that full, joyful, satisfied experience of worshiping at his feet into unspoken permission to seek something else
    • Then there are time when I’m driven to the feet of my Lord with a renewed sense of duty. Duty isn’t a dirty word for me. Duty belongs to honor, obedience, and service. Doing one’s duty is part and parcel to maturity, manhood/womanhood, and warfare.

Posted from Diigo. The rest of my favorite links are here.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 30/07/2013 in Current Issues

 

Leave a Reply

 
