RSS

What I Read Online – 05/17/2013 (a.m.)

17 May
    • Eberstadt argues that faith has declined as the family unit has fallen apart in the West and that the family unity has fallen apart largely due to the widespread acceptance of contraception in the mid-20th century, primarily the Pill.
    • in fact Paul’s type/antitype exegesis demands that the type be as historical as the antitype.
    • Christ Himself certainly seemed to believe and presuppose an historical Adam as indispensable to his self-understanding
    • In October 2008, at the age of 19, my superficial reality was shaken up by a deeper love — one from the outside, one that I’d heard of before but never experienced. For the first time, I was convicted of my sin in a way that made me consider everything I loved (idolized), and its consequences. I looked at my life, and saw that I had been in love with everything except God, and these decisions would ultimately be the death of me, eternally. My eyes were opened, and I began to believe everything God says in his word. I began to believe that what he says about sin, death, and hell were completely true.
    • He has helped me love him more than anything
    • If you’d believe all that society had to say about homosexuality, you’d come to the conclusion that it is completely normal, even somewhat admirable. But that is far from the truth. God tells us that homosexuality is sinful, abominable, and unnatural (Leviticus 18:22; 20:13; Romans 1:18–32; 1 Corinthians 6:9–11; 1 Timothy 1:8–10). But if I were to be honest, sometimes homosexual attractions can seem natural to me.
    • There was a time in my walk with Christ where I experienced a lot of temptation about falling back into lesbianism. These temptations caused me to doubt God’s word. My temptations and desires began to become more real to me than the truth of the Bible. As I was praying and meditating on these things, God put this impression on my heart: “Jackie, you have to believe that my word is true even if it contradicts how you feel.” Wow! This is right. Either I trust in his word or I trust my own feelings. Either I look to him for the pleasure my soul craves or I search for it in lesser things. Either I walk in obedience to what he says or I reject his truth as if it were a lie.
    • But in Jesus, there is fullness of joy. In Jesus, there is a relationship worth everything, because he is everything. Run to him
    • Contrary to popular opinion, the Bible does speak with clarity–objective clarity–about what is physically appropriate between an unmarried man and woman in a pre-marriage relationship.”
    • Answering the kissing question is not as difficult as one might think. Clearly some forms of kissing are nonsexual; we kiss our children and our mothers. But there are some forms of kissing that we reserve exclusively for our wives. And the reason we do so is precisely that those forms of kissing are sexual.
    • Considering an activity against the backdrop of the family relationship is immeasurably helpful in clearing up nearly all of the confusion surrounding the question, “How far is too far?” If a man would not feel comfortable engaging in a particular action with his sister because doing so would be sexually inappropriate, then that action is of a sexual nature and is to be reserved for the marriage relationship
    • In other words, Paul tells Timothy to treat women who are not his wife in the same way he would treat his own sister
    • As far as God is concerned, all unmarried people are bound to the standards of purity he has defined in the neighbor relationship … We are not sanctioned to invent a new category of male-female relationships, only to remove ourselves from God’s guidelines in the process.” If she isn’t your wife and she isn’t a blood relative, she is your neighbor. If he isn’t your husband and he isn’t a blood relative, he is your neighbor and needs to be treated as such
      • Sexual relations are to be reserved for the marriage relationship.
      • There’s more to sexual relations than sexual intercourse.
      • Any activity that is sexual in nature must be reserved for the marriage relationship.
      • Some forms of kissing are sexual in nature.
      • Sexual forms of kissing must be reserved for the marriage relationship.
    • Who really wants praise bands, or even organs, when one can have the fragile beauty of the human voice?

Posted from Diigo. The rest of my favorite links are here.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 17/05/2013 in Current Issues

 

Leave a Reply

 
