RSS

What I Read Online – 03/26/2013 (a.m.)

26 Mar
    • He was a deacon and youth Sunday School teacher whose legacy includes 40 years of faithful service in his local church and raising up one of the nation’s most influential evangelical leaders.
    • I honestly believe he was one of the greatest Christian men that I have met in my lifetime.”
    • “My grandfather was one of the most godly and Christ-like men that I’ve ever known and has served as a role model for me for as long as I can remember,” Knight said. “He was also the coolest grandfather that I could ask for.”
    • “If you want to know how to be like Richard Mohler when you grow up, here it is: he was an ordinary man, living an ordinary life with Gospel intentionality. And that ordinary, humble man armed with the good news of the Gospel was extraordinary.”
    • “The Lord allowed me the joy of having young men show up at the seminary I’m privileged to serve who told me, ‘Your dad taught me in middle school and had a massive impact on my life,'” Mohler said. “And more than one has told me, ‘Your dad led me to the Lord and helped me understand what it meant to come to Jesus and to believe in him and to be saved.'”
    • Then, one ordinary day, I came to Jesus, openhanded and naked. In this war of worldviews, Ken was there. Floy was there. The church that had been praying for me for years was there. Jesus triumphed. And I was a broken mess. Conversion was a train wreck. I did not want to lose everything that I loved. But the voice of God sang a sanguine love song in the rubble of my world. I weakly believed that if Jesus could conquer death, he could make right my world. I drank, tentatively at first, then passionately, of the solace of the Holy Spirit. I rested in private peace, then community, and today in the shelter of a covenant family, where one calls me “wife” and many call me “mother.”
    • there’s no way to be a good pastor without having at least a general grip on history—secular and redemptive. He writes, “Historical laymen should read broadly enough to make sure they are not reading some truncated account or other, but neither should they be embarrassed by the necessity of popularizing the material” (pp. 8-9).
    • So the first thing we ought to ask as good readers is, “How does the author know that?” The first responsibility of any writer must be to make his or her case clear to the reader. As someone that’s written his own book attempting some historical revision, I think I know two things: (1) such revisions are needful and can be helpful, and (2) if you’re going to attempt revising a long-held historical narrative you’d better bring plenty of evidence to substantiate your claims!
    • What I greatly appreciated about The Problem of Evil was the extent to which it is self-consciously Christian, not merely theistic. It’s sadly rare to see contemporary Christian philosophy done in such a way that maintains Christian commitment to biblical authority even over matters of philosophy. In reading this book I found myself writing amen in the margins, as Evans didn’t merely tag verses onto the end of a philosophical discourse; rather, at key points in his argument he appealed to scriptural authority and to theology in dealing with philosophical problems.
    • The aspect of the book I found most disappointing—though I can’t say I was particularly surprised—was Evans’s assuming a libertarian notion of free will. Of course, this is a common position among Christian philosophers today, and how divine sovereignty and human responsibility relate is a massive debate. In fact, it’s impossible to address the questions he tackles in The Problem of Evil without taking a position on the issue. I mention this only to point out that if you espouse a more compatibilist notion of human freedom you may find some of Evans’s arguments unsatisfying, as his libertarianism comes into play at several points throughout the book.
    • First, Truman is a skillful critic of modern culture
    • Second, this book displays a strong and broad-chested theology
    • One example will suffice. He writes: “[C]hurches need to take a position on certain things. Take infant baptism for instance: it is either legitimate to baptize infants or it is not. There is no middle position. Further one really cannot equivocate on this matter, because the answer one gives  has a profound effect on how one understands entry into the church, the Christian life, and the nature of Christian nurture” (131). As a credobaptist, I disagree with Trueman on baptism, but I agree with his call to take stand one way or another. Many today prefer not to take a stand at all. The church needs this kind of careful doctrine and firm conviction if we hope to flourish in the days to come.
    •   Be mindful of the stress and lack of sleep of new parents.

       

      2)      Be sensitive to the mother’s recovery.

       

      3)      Introduce yourself to family in the room.

       

      4)      Clean your hands.

       

      5)      Hold the baby (if comfortable doing so).

       

      6)      Enjoy it!

       

      7)      Read Psalm 139:13-16.

       

      8)      Pray for the parents.

       

      9)      Plead for the soul of that child.

       

      10)  Be aware of how long you stay (typically less than 20 minutes).

    • Altogether, the evidence thus far presented can hardly be said to build confidence that any missing Q fragments have actually been discovered. But at least, ex hypothesi, such a discovery has some reasonable expectations laid on it so that papyrus discoveries yet to come may be examined for whether they supply any evidence of being copies of Q. Still, I’m not holding my breath.

Posted from Diigo. The rest of my favorite links are here.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 26/03/2013 in Current Issues

 

Leave a Reply

 
