RSS

What I Read Online – 11/29/2012 (a.m.)

29 Nov
    • Is there support for this service element in the Scriptures?
    • Is this element comprehensible to outsiders?
    • Is this element edifying to believers?
    • Is this element offensive, alienating, or marginalizing to any section or subsection of the church body?
    • Does this element exalt God or man?
    • Does this element adorn the gospel?
    • The four years of theological training gave me the tools to work with while my internship was a workshop where I actually used the tools. It’s my prayer that I will continue using what I have learnt till “the church is built and the earth is filled with God’s glory.”
    • Mr. Piggy was a dirty old man. He was nasty, lewd, wicked. What he took from me was much more than a kiss from a little girl. He stole something from me–a bit of innocence, a load of trust, a lot of transparency. Years of guilt followed that 30 second exchange. I should have pulled back. I should have told someone. I should not have taken the hush money/candy. Instead of feeling like a victim, I felt like a participant because I said nothing and did nothing, I felt responsible and dirty.
    • God is just. I know He will not leave the guilty unpunished (Exod 34:7). I know He will judge the wicked (Ps 73:1-20). I know God is good and just and allows things to happen according to the counsel of His will and purpose, and for the good of those who love Him. I know that I am not guilty. What happened was not my fault. I understand that I was taken advantage of, and I praise God for freeing me from shame and guilt by exposing the evildoer for who he is.
    • In historic Reformation thought, the notion is this: regeneration precedes faith. We also believe that regeneration is monergistic. Now that’s a three-dollar word. It means essentially that the divine operation called rebirth or regeneration is the work of God alone

Posted from Diigo. The rest of my favorite links are here.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 29/11/2012 in Current Issues

 

Leave a Reply

 
