RSS

What I Read Online – 08/21/2012 (a.m.)

21 Aug
    • Words: Jo­si­ah Con­der, 1836.
       

       

      My Lord, I did not choose You,
      For that could never be;
      My heart would still refuse You,
      Had You not chosen me.
      You took the sin that stained me,
      You cleansed me, made me new;
      Of old You have ordained me,
      That I should live in You.

      Unless Your grace had called me
      And taught my op’ning mind,
      The world would have enthralled me,
      To heav’nly glories blind.
      My heart knows none above You;
      For Your rich grace I thirst;
      I know that if I love You,
      You must have loved me first.

    • God is turning the world upside down that it may be right side up when Jesus comes.
    • The Sexual Offences Act 2003 set out a new public sexual ethic. This article considers how its three ‘big ideas’ – consent, equality and protection – compare with the values that underlie sexual offences in biblical law. First, we find that consent in biblical law is not merely a matter for the actors involved in the sexual behaviour, but goes wider to include others who are affected. Second, whereas modern law identifies certain classes as morally indistinguishable and therefore ‘equal’ (e.g. making no distinction between heterosexual and homosexual intercourse), biblical law builds its idea about equality on a different set of moral distinctions. And, third, whilst modern law properly focuses on protecting children and other vulnerable persons, biblical law goes much further to consider the protection of the family and society as a whole. In addition, biblical law knows of further categories within which to structure sexual offences, including a concern for order and the good of the Creator’s original intent.
    • Sometimes, while in the very act of teaching, my eyes become opened to see something in the text for the first time. This installment and the next will each offer insights that suddenly dawned upon me in the act of teaching. Both come from the Gospel of Mark, and both concern semi-veiled allusions to the Old Testament.

       

    • Jesus has just come down the mountain after being transfigured in the cloud along with Elijah and with Moses who had joined him on the mountaintop and left Jesus and his three disciples without descending the mountain. The one who descended is the one who ascended, who was transfigured, and whose visage and garments shone with glory. Echoes in the transfiguration account of Moses’ experience of the theophany on Mount Sinai (Exodus 33:17-23) are too strong to ignore
    • This is the nature of revelation; in the very act of revealing there is also concealing, for never does Jesus pull back the curtains to disclose everything all at once. Jesus forbade the three disciples to speak of what they had seen on the mountain, but this prohibition hardly prevented him from carrying an afterglow of his transfigured glory with him for his other disciples and for the crowd below to glimpse, to be astonished, and to receive the revelatory hint that he is the one who is greater than Moses whose visage and garments shone long ago, whose shining prompted the Israelites to shield their eyes so that Moses veiled his face.
    • Yet now I find there is another book of Christian autobiography that is well worth reading: The Secret Thoughts of an Unlikely Covert. The book is unusual for a variety of reasons, not least because of the identity of the author: Rosaria Champagne Butterfield. Dr. Butterfield is now married to a pastor in the Reformed Presbyterian Church of North America, a small denomination which is perhaps most distinctive for its practice of singing only unaccompanied metrical psalms in worship. What makes her so interesting, however, is her career before marriage: she was a successful English literature professor at Syracuse University who specialized in Queer Theory and was herself a committed lesbian. This book is the story of how she came to be who and where she now is.
    • I cannot recommend this book highly enough. I do not agree with everything she says; but I did learn from everything she wrote. It deserves the widest possible readership. 
    • As I mentioned, many missteps in theology are on account of the implicit idea that God must be act as we would act
    • God reveals himself to us in human terms, yet we must not compare God to us as if we were the ultimate reference point

Posted from Diigo. The rest of my favorite links are here.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 21/08/2012 in Current Issues

 

Leave a Reply

 
