RSS

Happy Birthday Mandy!

15 Aug

Do you spend much time thinking about what life would be like if a particular person had not be born? I do…

Thirteen years ago today, on her birthday, I met Amanda Lynn Birtchet.

I carry these photos around with me in my wallet, along with digital copies on my phone.

I have received no greater earthly gift than the gift of meeting the lady who would be my wife, the mother of our children, and my companion through life and ministry.

I thank the Lord every day for His gift to me in giving me Mandy as my wife.

What would my life be like if Amanda Lynn Birtchet had not been born on the 15th of August? Beyond all the little details, I know I would not be the man I am today, if it were not for her.

I thank the Lord this day, every year for bringing her in to the world those ?? years ago! (It is pretty cool that we met on her birthday too! And, no I am not going to replace those ?? with a number.)

I pray she has a wonderful day rejoicing in God’s faithfulness to her and can look forward to the future with hope knowing His faithfulness never comes to an end.

Happy Birthday, my love!

Philippians 4:4-9 (the reference engraved in our wedding rings):

4 Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, rejoice. 5 Let your reasonableness be known to everyone. The Lord is at hand; 6 do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. 7 And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. 8 Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things. 9 What you have learned and received and heard and seen in me– practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you.

Proverbs 31:11, 28, 29

11 The heart of her husband trusts in her, and he will have no lack of gain. 28 Her children rise up and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her: 29 “Many women have done excellently, but you surpass them all.”

 
1 Comment

Posted by on 15/08/2012 in Family, Fun, Marriage, New Zealand

 

One response to “Happy Birthday Mandy!

Leave a Reply

 
