What I Read Online – 09/06/2012 (a.m.)

    • And, instead, you throw an unbridled, unexpected, UNDESERVED party.

       

      I’m afraid to accept it because I don’t think I’m good enough to maintain it. I don’t think I can be as perfect as I need to be in order to continue deserving it. Now that it’s in my hands, my hands can never be dirty again. You hand me grace, and I think you’re handing me an expectation.

       

      And it weighs so much. I’m afraid to drop it, but the expectation to be perfect is heavier than I can carry. I know this is foolish. I know in my head that, when you give us grace, you are not finishing the process of forgiveness, you are beginning it.

       

      But in my ears I hear differently. I cobble together a view of you that is untrue. From bad sermons and bad books and bad theology and bad friends, I build a bad God.

       

      I don’t know who you are yet, but I know it’s not who I’ve built you to be.

       

      When you hand me grace, please take away my hammer too.

       

      I’m tired of being in the construction business.

    • Paul is not saying that the husband-wife relationship is parallel to the Christ-church relationship at every point. When you think about it, that would be ludicrous, wouldn’t it?
    • his is the key for us as we come to think about the idea of sacrificial love in marriage. If we don’t have the gospel of Jesus Christ firmly in our sights when we read Ephesians 5, we’ll only end up with a twisted distortion of the sacrificial love / submission dynamic that it describes.
    • The power struggle. In this paradigm, marriage is primarily about two individuals in competition with one another.
    • The economic partnership. Sometimes, even without realizing it, we can think and act as if marriage is simply an economic partnership.
    • The fairy tale (a.k.a. the Hollywood “happily ever after”). In this paradigm, marriage is ultimately all about ‘the two of us.’ We are ‘fulfilled’ in one another.
    • We need admit that all these alternative ways of thinking affect us at various times. That’s why we need to keep coming back to the gospel of Jesus Christ.
    • Marriage is, in other words, a Christ-oriented one-flesh relationship.
    • ecause marriage is a one flesh relationship, the immediate goal of a husband’s love is to nurture a deep and tender union with his spouse.
    • Because marriage is a Christ-oriented relationship, the ultimate goal of a husband’s love is directed toward God’s great plan for the world, to unite all things in Christ.
    • Because a husband’s love is Christ-like, it will involve sacrifice.
    • He sacrifices himself and his desires for the sake of maintaining and deepening his unity with his wife, and for the sake of making his marriage a marriage which glorifies Christ.
    • Counterfeit Gods
    • It’s not just being cranky to comb through these published responses to the most central question of the Christian faith with a critical eye. It’s a great question. It should make us think about how we would summarize the gospel in those brief encounters with strangers, friends, co-workers, and relatives.

       

    • She talks about how it is natural for students to have doubts, and the last thing you should do is try to ignore those doubts or sweep them under the rug
    • The homeschool setting is especially good for fostering such an environment. Because homeschool schedules are flexible, you can spend time concentrating on topics and issues that are not central to your curriculum
    • In the end, encourage your children to express their doubts, and diligently look for materials that will help them find the answers they need. Not only is this necessary for a strong education, Dr. Powell contends that it is necessary for a strong faith!
    •   A new morality majority has emerged—but this time it is on the left.   Now the very groups that once chided Falwell and Robertson for appealing to morality, are doing it themselves as they defend practices like homosexual marriage.
    • 1. We need to point out the inconsistency of this new morality
    • 2.We need to challenge the intellectual foundation for this new morality
    • Christians have answers to these questions.  We believe that moral absolutes are grounded in the very character of God himself and revealed in his Word.   Indeed, we would argue that without a theistic worldview, there would be no basis for any morals at all. One cannot make moral claims with just any old worldview.  One needs a worldview that can provide a coherent reason for why something is really wrong or really right.

Posted from Diigo. The rest of my favorite links are here.

About Joe Fleener

Lover of Christ & His Gospel, Husband to Mandy, Father to three wonderful children, Servant to the Local Church, Bible College Lecturer
This entry was posted in Current Issues. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

